Previous FIPFA World Champions

2017 FIPFA world cup – Kissimmee, Florida – Champions: France

The 2017 FIPFA World Cup was held in Kissimmee, Florida USA in July, 2017. Argentina and Uruguay made their World Cup debuts as 10 teams fought for the championship.

An exciting tournament, made more thrilling with the Strike Force powerchair saw some tense encounters. Once again, the USA and France would meet in the final. The USA survived a massive scare in the semi-finals, scraping past England with a 2-1 victory, while the French comfortably defeated unexpected semi-finalists Australia. France would go on to claim their first World Cup victory in a thrilling 4-2 triumph over the hosts.

2011 FIPFA world cup – paris, france – champions: USA

Photo credit: Scot Goodman

Paris hosted the second FIPFA World Cup in November, 2011. 10 teams took to the court, including debutants Australia, Ireland and Switzerland.

The reigning champions, the USA, would knock out the hosts on their way to the final. They would then meet the English team who defeated them earlier in the group stage. The reigning champs would claim their second title, flipping their earlier loss to the English to win the final 3-0.

2007 FIPFA world cup – tokyo, japan – champions: USA

The inaugural FIPFA World Cup was held in Tokyo, Japan in October 2007 and featured teams from Belgium, Canada, Denmark, England, France, Japan, Portugal and the USA.

After going undefeated through to the championship match, the USA came up against the French in the final. The USA won the first ever FIPFA World Cup Champions, but not before the match went to a penalty shoot-out!